Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Heartbreaker


Okay.......im back
I havent been Blogging for a while now but that doesnt mean i left my amebo ways(lol).
so let me just launch into a short gist, though not so hot like before but its worth talking about anyways.
I was on my way home from work one evening in a bus. The type of bus that takes you a long distance through serious traffic and if youre lucky to sleep, you'll prolly wake up 2 hours later at your stop.
Did i mention "if" and "lucky"? well, i wasnt lucky that day at all.

On getting in, i noticed a man singing loud like he wanted everyone to hear the lyrics of his praise jam (lol) This is a common occurence in buses so i sighed and prayed that it would be a short session. He started all right, warning everyone about the end-time and all. Truth is, by the time he started the sermon, i was actually on his side. Strange huh? I know the end time is fast approaching, not with all the signs we get daily.

But another thing got me on the guy's side; there was a young 'couple' sitting right beside me and they did was giggle and laugh at the preacher's comments and bad grammar. I thought to myself "Am i growing old or its just thsese people that are acting childish" lol

The girl couldnt have been more than 18 years old and the guy about 23. So i got curious (thanks to the fact that i suffered temporary insomnia) and listened to their gist. Guy was telling girl how he gets compliments from girls on his looks and all. I thought 'what the heck is this gu...'

But Mr. Macho wasnt done, he said his ex girlfriend was desperately trying to get him back but he doesnt like her anymore. "She's ugly and has scattered teeth, i cant even dream of taking her back!" I was patiently waiting for Mrs. I-love-macho to talk him down or something but all i heard was her giggling while she leaned on him like a desperate piglet. I was rather pissed but wetin be my own sef? I was only pock-nosing into something they didnt ask my opinion of. So that what amebos get!

But this really raised a question on my mind and i would like you guys to respond. Why do girls simply refuse to wise-up? They see a potential hearbreaker and still fall head over heels in love with the guy. They hear stories abotu how a girl in a similar situation got dumped by her man for someone else and they still fall for the same story by the same guy.

I got an intersting question from a friend one day. Why do girls love bad boys so much that the good guy begs and begs for their love but they seek the bad guy's attention only. I dont know o! Me i just like to see smart women who make smart choices. They learn from past mistakes and people's experiences. And for guys like Mr. Macho....i just wannt hit their heads with something!lol

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

The Change Zimbabwe needs


My first reaction to the news was "Noooo...how is it possible?" Not that I’m not a supporter of Morgan Tsvangirai. I just didn’t think Mugabe would give up so much power to his toughest opposition. A lot of us monitored the elections (aside following Obama's inauguration plans) praying for the same change that came to America for Zimbabwe. But our hopes were dashed when we learnt that the leader of Movement for Democratic Change (note the word 'change') was tired of running against Mugabe. Not that he had a choice anyway. lol

Mugabe had so many advantages against Morgan, yet I admire the latter's courage. Something most Labor union leaders possess, remember our own Adams Oshiomole. He dared the threats like a lion and stood still like a strong pillar. Well...until he had no choice. But like a cat with nine lives, he came again and was declared a frontrunner. Both men also had something in common; they were once declared dark horses but turned around to surprise everyone.

But the dry bones have arisen again. Tsvangirai is now the new Prime Minister of Zimbabwe. Now let’s talk about change. I'll bet the UN even gave up on that country. Everyone shouted, screamed, pleaded and even sweet talked Mugabe but nothing happened until now. This is the first time Zimbabwe would be having a PM since their independence in 1980. I find that synonymous with Obama being the first Black president of the US. The change has come.

I don’t know much about Morgan but each time I see his face, I can tell that his fierce and rugged spirit surely paid off in the end. Don’t listen to his critics because if they were in his shoes, they would have bolted long before the elections sef. How do you explain a man who barely completed secondary school education contesting against the erudite, eighty-four year old Mugabe who has SEVEN! university degrees. Haba! The guy has some nerve o. But it paid off in the end.

Now, don’t ask me why I’m carrying on and on about him. He’s just the PM and Mugabe remains the Presido. I know, I know. But did you even imagine that Mugabe would give 1 slot of authority to anyone? Judging from the guy's addiction on the substance called power, I’d say 'no'. But guess what? Morgan's party can to have 13 slots and Mugabe's 15. How’s that for change?

Phantom


She packed her bags
Twisted brown hair in a bun
So it’s finally happened
Her greatest fear had come upon her
Like a disease without a cure
She felt like a ghost
Slowly lifting out of her form
Only fear keeps her static
Not this way
We were meant to be forever
She whispered to her weary heart
Loneliness is better than death
It’s the death of a soul
Never to know love again
Goodbye my friend
You were closer than a lover

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Wonderful Love


For all those who think I’m a playa hater (whatever that means) I have decided to astonish and possibly disappoint you. Though I’m not a love rabbi like my good friend NK. I am a love scholar and I’m loving it!
I’m in love with an amazing man (yes, he’s a man) who cares about me. He might be a man but he’s a different spec…trust me on that one. I have tested and tried him in so many ways and he still remains true. This is why I love him. I don’t think I can stand myself, let alone anyone coping with my tantrums and complexities.
He makes me feel like singing India Arie’s song…..The Truth"

[Spoken:]
Let me tell you why I love him

[Chorus:]
Cause he is the truth
Said he is so real
And I love the way that he makes me feel
And if I am a reflection of him then I must be fly cause
his light it shines so bright I wouldn't lie

[Verse 1:]
I remember the very first day that I saw him
I found myself immediately intrigued by him
Its almost like I knew this man from another life
Like back then maybe I was his husband and maybe he was my wife
And even, the things I don't like about him are fine with me
Because its not hard for me to understand him because he's so much like me
And its truly my pleasure to share his company
And I know that it's God's gift to breathe the air he breathes

[Repeat Chorus]

[Verse 2:]
How can the same man that makes me so mad
-do you know what he did-[spoken]
Turn right around and kiss me so soft
-girl do you know what he did-[spoken]
If he ever left me, I wouldn't even be sad, no
Cause there's a blessing in every lesson
And I'm glad that I knew him at all

[Repeat Chorus]

I love the way he speaks
I love the way he thinks
I love the way he treats his mama
I love that gap in between his teeth
I love him in every way that a woman can love a man from personal to universal but most of all its unconditional

-you know what I'm talking about-[spoken]
Thats the way I feel
-and I always will-[spoken]

There ain't no substitute for the truth
either it is or isnt
cause he is the truth
you see the truth it, needs no proof
either it is or it isnt
Cause he is the truth
Now you know the truth by the way it feels
and if I am a reflection of him then I must be fly
cause he is yes he is
I wonder does he know [echoes]


In the spirit of valentine… whoever cares much could still remember their loved ones. And my heart longs to go somewhere far away, to walk the shores of a quiet beach with my lover and friend. No cares in the world…if wishes were horses, writers would ride? Ok whatever…the point I’m trying to make is people you sometimes take for granted would make life lonely if they weren’t there at all.

Friday, January 30, 2009

Bush meat


clearly, america has made mince meat of the guy
but it still cracks me up all the time:

'The vast majority of our imports come from outside the country.'
- George W. Bush

'If we don't succeed, we run the risk of failure.'
- George W. Bush

'One word sums up probably the responsibility of any Governor, and that one word is 'to be prepared'.'
-George W. Bush

'I have made good judgments in the past. I have made good judgments in the future.'
- George W. Bush

'The future will be better tomorrow.'
- George W. Bush

'We're going to have the best educated American people in the world.'
- George W. Bush

'I stand by all the misstatements that I've made.'
- George W Bush

'We have a firm commitment to NATO, we are a part of NATO. We have a firm commitment to Europe . We are a part of Europe '
- George W. Bush

'Public speaking is very easy.'
- George W. Bush

'A low voter turnout is an indication of fewer people going to the polls.'
- George W. Bush

'I have opinions of my own -- strong opinions -- but I don't always agree with them.'
-George Bush

'We are ready for any unforeseen event that may or may not occur.'
- George W. Bush

'For NASA, space is still a high priority.'
-George W. Bush

'Quite frankly, teachers are the only profession that teach our children.'
-George W. Bush

'It isn't pollution that's harming the environment. It's the impurities in our air and water that are doing it.'
- George W. Bush


On a serious note though, there's movie preview i saw(titled "W") if anyone knows where i can watch it...pls lemme know.
Peace!

Dining with celebrities


Just gisting...dont take me serious

Okay so yesterday was a friend's birthday. He wanted us to hang out after work. I wasn’t really up to it but I wanted to give him a birthday hug before I hurry home(plus my SH was waiting for me with my friend so I had no excuse) After driving through the traffic on the island just to get to three streets away, I was tired and burning to go home. But i put on my best attitude cos hey....it’s my friend's birthday. My SH met me at the entrance and he kinda hinted me that we would be dining with a celebrity from a reality show. He said her name but it didn’t click. So i thought the face should definitely click.

Unfortunately for her...it still didn’t click. She's a nice young celeb, not those ones with nasty attitudes. So I relaxed and tried to enjoy the conversation. All five of us gisting and laughing. Two celebs, three non-celebs...good combo. Usually, when I’m in a place, I take in all the faces around me. So I sat there laughing at the gist, and taking the scene in....first table...three young ladies gisting (one was looking around like me so I fixed my gaze on the next table...two young men eating (looking around too) now the third table had three people, one of them a celeb of the celebs, even I could not deny his face. (lol) The other was a regular celeb, and the third was a celeb's friend (which makes her a celeb right? I think lol)

I was beginning to enjoy the scene so much that I think I must have imagined the next occurrence. Remember the celeb of the celebs I told you about? Well, he just stared directly at me and said "Right thurr" Don’t ask me what that means. But that moment marked my baptism into the world of celebrities.

Getting attention from people can be addictive...trust me. Or why else would the silly thing stare at me for a long time and still have the audacity to mouth those gangster words? Did I like the attention? Yes. So I don’t blame him for thinking he's got what it takes to make me swoon (no I didn’t swoon) I just acted like it wasn’t me. He was being rude but wanted to be noticed, something they all want cos they’re addicted, remember? so I didn’t give him the pleasure. Why? Cos I’m not a celeb...I’m a superstar and superstars don’t mix with celebs.

lol...I wish

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Fashola's Lagos







As the country commends the metamorphosis of Lagos, I will join many Nigerians to congratulate our innovative Raji Fashola. The irony however, is that I never thought the day would come when Lagos would be blessed with a leader like him. (at least not in my life time). Now I guess I’m eating my words and they don’t taste so good.

Truth is, many people are as guilty as I am, and I never supported Raji from the outset. I had many things against the guy; first he had to be the incumbent’s protégé and I wondered why he couldn’t speak for himself. Also, the likes of ---- and---- blew me away with the suaveness and fluency. Compared to the quite Raji who could barely be heard even above the loud speakers (or maybe it was I who wasn’t listening). Other aspirants seemed to have garnered all our attention. Their speeches inspired me to think maybe for once, Lagosians would vote right and allow the change we need.



With the results out and Raji declared as winner, I was also among the crowd that cried foul. And we waited for him to prove the enlightened, exposed and educated facet of the state right. Unfortunately, he hasn’t given us the pleasure to see him fail, at least not to my knowledge. I hate to join the bandwagon praising Fashola every single moment they get but I still cant help doffing my hat (not that I like wearing hats) to this guy I thought didn’t have the verve it takes to transform Lagos state. He seems to have a determination stronger than his critics could have imagined, or else they would have tried harder during the campaign.

What happens when you have a governor in this country who just doesn’t like using sirens? Not because he wants you to like him (yea, we all know what strategy) but because he just doesn’t like noise. Now I heard him say that and went “yeah right, Raji don’t sweet talk me puuleeze” but he proved me wrong by consistently driving through Lagos without the use of the sirens. What you get is a saner Lagos.

What do you get when a governor personally apologizes for his subject’s mistake? The navy officer that authorized the physical attack of a Miss Uzoma in Lagos recently could have been knighted for his bravery in another administration for all we care but Fashola took charge. Now, I know he isn’t superman and he is only carrying out the duties expected of a governor, but the question is “When last did we have one so responsible?” It’s almost like a luxury walking through a place like Oshodi and wondering where all the dirt went to. What happened to the heaps of nylons and the smell of feaces cross the rail way? Then you wonder why we all have to use the pedestrian bridge to get to the other side of the road (uncomfortable for people who just love running across that road right?) And before you think it’s all a façade, the armed mobile police men are on ground to remind you that Lagos must change, whether you like it or not. I must confess, this whole phase excites me like a child waiting for Christmas morning.

Talking about Christmas, have you seen the new look of Lagos this festive season? It makes you wonder if you were somewhere far from home. The fun part is that these initiatives are not as expensive as the embarrassing excuses we’ve had from our past administrators; it’s all a mind thing. If you package a five dollar ring in a beautiful case probably worth more than the ring, it’s very possible that the ring would assume a higher value to someone who isn’t aware of the cost. If Nigerians can drive through their neighborhood and have a reason to smile or even take pictures to show others, then we are on the brink of change.

Sadly though, many Nigerians are complaining. Yes, we know Rome wasn’t built in a day but these people want more action than decorations and promises of a better, brighter or rewarding future. They would rather have that future today. The truth is, we cannot change a nation without changing the people themselves. If you mount a thousand and one thrash bins on a street, I know some people who will still litter the ground with dirt. If you force people to wear helmets on bikes, I know some people who would rather hold those helmets than wear them for safety. Its all in the mind isn’t it? They give excuses such as the fear of ritualists and possibility of catching skin diseases, leprosy and even HIV from these helmets! I do not mean to disregard these fears because I also have my issues against the helmet law. Why would the FRSC enforce a law when even the Okada riders themselves are not well trained on how to drive their bikes? I am of the opinion that asides forcing people to wear safety gadgets on bikes let the bike riders be zoned accordingly and trained intensively on safety on the roads, after which they are issued with licenses allowing them to do their business. I am not an advocate for the ban of motorcycles, not because it’s not a good idea but because we still don’t have what it takes. Or how do you want people like me to get to work on time against the mad traffic?

So, I agree we have more pressing issues but our governor seems to have discovered a secret that it’s the little drops that make an ocean.


©Oluwatoyin Odewunmi
2009 Jan.